• Martin Škrtel

    Martin Škrtel

                Second great footballer was born 15 December 1984 in Handlová, Slovakia.

     

    Martin Škrtel

    Martin Škrtel

     

      

    Martins career began in a city that was surrounded by fashion or hockey much more than football. It was his father who led him to football instead of hockey and skiing. 

    Very soon it turned out to be a breaking point of his career. Mostly due to a Kirin Cup tournament held in Japan. This was the place where Martin first cought the eye of big club scouts. They all saw what now everyone sees in the Champions League or Premier League – his fighting spirit, strong head and his good attitude in games. And when Zenit St. Petersburg came knocking, the answer was yes.

    The former Zenit manager Vlastimil Petrzela said : „Since the last 21 years that I work as a coach I have never seen such a good player. Martin made a huge step forward in the last season. He is extremely self confident and he has a great future ahead of him.“.

    When Zenit won the league in 2007 and Martin finished amongst the 30 best players of the league, it was Tottenham, Everton, Newcastle United and Valencia that formed a long queue of admirers willing for his signature. „I came to Zenit as a 19-year old and I really liked this place. I was chosen by Vlastimil Petržela. I had my chances in the beginning but I was too young probably because my performances on the pitch were not ideal. But as time went by I became more matured and the arrival of Mr. Advocaat helped me a lot as well. I couldn´t end my stay in a better way – by becoming a Champion of Russia. I won the Slovak Footballer of the Year competition as well.“

    A bomb, a dream came true, a moment of joy by becoming the most expensive defensive signing in Livepools long history. On January 11th he signed a contract with the Reds. Liverpool paid 6,5 million pounds for his services. „He is aggressive, quick, is good in the air and I think he's a very good player for the future and also for the present.“ These were the first words of Mr. Rafa Benitez after he has signed Martin.

    Martin Škrtel

    And then it went all so fast. Maybe even Martin didn´t expect to come on the pitch so soon. He played his first 20 Premier League minutes on January the 21st against Aston Villa (2:2). He made his debut in the starting eleven a couple days later. It was really not of those to remind. Liverpool won against a minor Havant & Waterlooville 6:2 but Martin was involved in both goals in Liverpools net. He even scored an own goal. And what does he think of this dream job in Anfield now? „My dream came true by signing for this club.“

     

    Martin Škrtel

     

     

    Martin Škrtel

    By Katka (: 


  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: